Somerset County Council



Latest County Council Elections 

County Council elections are held every 4 years using the first past the post system.

Find the results from 4 May 2017 on our elections results page. 

County Council Elections

Elections to councils are usually held on the first Thursday in May in any given year. However, parliament can decide to move the day of local government elections in England. 

The organisation of elections is undertaken on the County Council's behalf by the five District Councils in Somerset. If you need more information about the process and timetable for the elections, you should contact the relevant District Council for the area you live in.

A detailed timetable (known as the Notice of Election) gives the process for submitting nominations and guidance for candidates will be published around two months before the election by the relevant District Council. The Notice of Election gives the relevant dates and deadlines and explains what needs to be done and who to contact. The initial point of contact at District Councils is the Democratic Services or Electoral Services Team, acting as the Deputy Returning Officer.

Registering to vote 

You can register to vote on the GOV.UK website 

Or contact the Elections Officer at your District Council 

Mendip – 0300 303 8588

Sedgemoor – 0300 303 7800

South Somerset - 01935 462462

Taunton Deane – 01823 356356

West Somerset – 01643 703704

» Indicates required fields

Feedback form
Was this information helpful? »