Somerset County Council
.

Route1 Advocacy

 

An advocate is someone who can help you to have your say. They can support you to make sure your views are listened to and acted upon. Sometimes they might help you to write a letter, make a phone call or go to a meeting with you. An advocate can help you to understand your rights and have a say in the plans that are being made about you.

If you are in care you could ask for an advocate if you are worried or upset about something, or if things are changing for you - perhaps you are moving placements or going to a new school. You could also have an advocate come with you to your review or other meetings about you. Advocates can also help you if you want make a complaint or resolve an issue.

If you are going to a Child Protection Conference you may want an advocate to help you to have your say. An advocate could meet with you before the meeting and talk about what is going to happen and help you to get your wishes and feelings heard. 

Sometimes advocates go along to meetings with you or sometimes they can go on your behalf. An advocate can also help if you want to appeal against the decision of the Child Protection Conference.

Please visit the Route1 Advocacy website to find out how to get involved and much more.

Route1 Advocacy has organised 3 sets of training dates for the first half of the year.  Each programme consists of 5 days and volunteers are expected to attend all 5 training days. All training days are from 9am to 4.15pm.

Session 1
Dates Location 
Thursday 17 January 2019  Glastonbury area
Thursday 24 January 2019  Glastonbury area
Thursday 31 January 2019  Glastonbury area
Thursday 7 February 2019  Glastonbury area
Thursday 14 February 2019  Glastonbury area

 

Session 2
Dates Location 
Wednesday 24 April 2019  Glastonbury area
Wednesday 1 May 2019  Glastonbury area
Wednesday 8 May 2019
 Glastonbury area
Wednesday 15 May 2019
 Glastonbury area
Wednesday 22 May 2019
 Glastonbury area


Session 3
Dates Location 
Wednesday 12 June 2019  Glastonbury area
Wednesday 19 June 2019
 Glastonbury area
Wednesday 3 July 2019
 Glastonbury area
Wednesday 10 July 2019
 Glastonbury area
Wednesday 17 July 2019
 Glastonbury area

  

Contact us
Email   Route1Advocacy@somerset.gov.uk  
Phone   01749 822801
Website www.route1advocacy.co.uk 

Postal address
Route1 Advocacy - SCC
PO Box 5176
Shepton Mallet
BA4 9DD

Address for visitors to our main office
Route1 Advocacy
Mendip District Council
Cannards Grave Road 
Shepton Mallet
BA4 5BT

Route1

Information and resources

» Indicates required fields

Feedback form
Was this information helpful? »